cpt company

Traverse · 31 Jul - 10 Aug · 1h20

Napoleon in Exile

Memory...

A nameless young man in hospital, trying to recover his.

A defeated Emperor in exile, struggling to suppress his.

But is Napoleon all he seems? ...And what has he got up his sleevies?

Funny, lyrical and offbeat new theatre from double Fringe First Winner Chris Goode.

"genius"  The Guardian
"genius" The Scotsman

Goode (Neutrino 2001, Kiss of Life 2002) brings together two true stories - Gus is based on real life amnesiac Philip Straufen and Napoleon is based on... well... Napoleon - to produce a show that slowly draws its audience into a startling, dreamlike fantasy about autobiography, amnesia, estrangement, madness and desire.

"very odd indeed"  The Times

Napoleon in Exile is the startling and intoxicating Edinburgh Fringe debut production from the cpt company under the Artistic Direction of Chris Goode and stars female Napoleon, Gemma Brockis of East End theatre punks, Shunt (The Ballad of Bobby Francois and Time Out Award-winning Dance Bear Dance).


Preview Thur 31 July 7.30pm
Fri 1 Aug 10pm (Press Night)
Sat 2 Aug 11.30am · Sun 3 Aug 2pm
Mon 4 Aug no performance · Tue 5 Aug 4.15pm
Wed 6 Aug 7.15pm · Thu 7 Aug 9.45pm
Fri 8 Aug 11.15am · Sat 9 Aug 1.45pm
Sun 10 Aug 4.15pm
Book online or call 0131 228 1404

Festival Highlights · Press Release · Press Photographs · Contact Us · Special Offers